Posted in fitness

Switching up the leg workout.

16558733_10210838145302652_338871491_n

Photo cred to my friend playing paparazzi on me at the gym!

I mentioned in a previous post that I was going to switch my leg workout a bit to see the result. I did that today in that I did a mainly glute focused workout. It can be very hard to find exercises that just isolate the glutes. Inevitably you will end up hitting other muscles – especially the quads in doing so. The first exercise was squats. Yes I know these work all the leg muscles especially the quadriceps and hamstrings but I just can’t give them up! I enjoyed my workout today and I could feel it in the glutes more than usual.

Here’s what I did:

Squats: Barbell, 40 kg, 45 kg, 50 kg, 40 kg (all for 10 reps)

Pull throughs 3 x 10 at 12 kg

Glute kickbacks using cable machine 3 x 10 at 12 kg

Curtsy lunges 2 x 15 holding a 10 kg plate

American dead lifts: 3 x 10 with 20 kg barbell

Glute bridges holding a 10 kg plate at the stomach

Stretches to cool down.

I’m not sure if this glute isolation workout  will continue every week but I will try it again for the next two weeks and see if I am happier with the results.

I hope this has given you some ideas for glute isolation exercises!

5 thoughts on “Switching up the leg workout.

  1. Heyy!
    Thank you for following my blog, I appreciate the support and look forward to reading more of your blog post as well. I don’t know if you have ever considered juicing or if you workout regularly, but my page supplies ways to lose weight, gain strength and keeps people in shape. If you find yourself having questions or wanting to know more, don’t be afraid to contact me.

    By the way, I love networking and learning about others, so hopefully through your writing, I will gain some knowledge in what your passions are.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hey! good exercise choices 🙂
    Squats are pretty much everyone’s go to exercise! lol no worries, they do magical things to people. I have done the curtsy lunges too, I don’t mind them too much, considering I do them better than I do standard lunges!

    Shay-lon

    Like

      1. I felt more tired after doing curtsy lunges as well, I did it with the barbell to see if it would make a difference and it only made me EVEN MORE tired. LOL but like them better.

        Like

Leave a Reply

