Posted in fitness

Upper body workout. 

I meant to post this a lot earlier but my uni workload has gotten a bit crazy busy!

Anyway on Thursday last week was my upper body workout of the week. I’ve changed this workout from my usual. I have added in more back work and dropped the curls. I feel my arms are worked enough in the other upper body exercises that don’t isolate the arms.

My busy workload is just deflating most of my energy just now. I didn’t manage to lift as heavy for as many reps as usual. My doms have also lasted longer than usual but everyone goes through these fazes. It’s perfectly normal to have lower energy levels on certain occasions and for this to affect your training. This is why breaks are so important. I haven’t trained since Thursday but will be back into the gym tomorrow for legs and I cannot wait! 

Here’s what I did:

Lat pull downs 3×10 at 23.5 kg

Upright rows 3×10 at 20 kg

Overhead press 3×10 at 15 kg

Overhead tricep extensions 2 x 10 and 1 x 7 at 7 kg with medicine ball 

Tricep pull downs 2 x 10 and 1 x 7 at 12.5 kg

Face pulls 3 x 10 at 15 kg

Press ups – full until failure (this was 4 reps and then I failed – oops) and 15 on my knees

Stretches to finish. 

One thought on “Upper body workout. 

  1. Ellen,
    I know what you mean when you mention poor energy levels, I have had those days often enough to know they happen and sometimes we just have to lift less weight (hints why I have been doing VERY low weight workouts) these past couple of days. At least you recognize it and handle your business appropriately instead of ignoring it. Good job with your workout , and love the exercise choices! I do overhead presses a lot during my upper body workouts. LOL

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

